NoNo NaNo

NaNoWriMo is a fantastic invention – I’ve never completed it, but I have had a go a few times. I know some people say anything you can write in 30 days is probably not worth reading, but Kelley Armstrong, author of the fantastic Women of the Otherworld series, said on Twitter recently that she had a go – the result was the first draft of The Summoning, the first book in her new YA series. She’s doing it again this year. 

I am not. Not a single word of fiction has been composed for some time. I was going to do NaNoWriMo this year, and finally kick its butt, but life, as usual, got in the way. I have, in fact, managed to let life get in the way of writing every day since I went back to work after my summer holiday. I’d set a nice low goal (not like NaNo’s requirement of about 1800 a day to hit the 50,000 final target) of about 400 words a day. Haven’t even managed that. 

Well, tomorrow I’m getting to work on an academic article which needs revising and only has a week til its final deadline. That’s my priority. Then some poetry revision resources that bring in a couple of hundred pounds extra income (hey, Christmas is right around the corner). And I’m going to hang out with the lovely friends I made on my Creative Writing Diploma course in Oxford on Sunday. But then, I promise, I’ll get right to it…

Leave a Reply

